Dissidia 2

Tuesday, September 14th, 2010 03:03 pm
tenoko1: (Happy dance)
[personal profile] tenoko1

Can I get a w00t w00t? It's official folks. They're coming out with a Dissidia 2, "Dissidia 012 [duodecim] Final Fantasy", and will be released 2011. Official site just launched, though nothing on it at the moment. Two new characters revealed here.

So it got me thinking what characters needed to be added to this new one, in conjunction to the old. Maybe not everyone from the original cast is in the second and perhaps multiples from one game show up. Who's your cast list?

FFI Heroes: (mine were Warrior- 'Tiger', Thief- 'Hawk', White Mage- 'Crystal', Blk Mage- 'Bob'. Stupid Bob always dies.)
- Warrior of Light, the same one
- Another Warrior of Light, maybe a female red mage

FFI Villains:
- Garland

FFII Heroes: (as long as Frioin and The Emperor are there, I'm good. Love them.)
- Firion


FFII Villains:
- The Emperor
- Leon

FFIII Heroes (NDS characters): (hated this game)
- Luneth

FFIII Villains:
- Cloud Of Darkness
- Xande

FFIV Heroes:
- Cecil
- Kain

FFIV Villains:
- Golbez


FFV Heroes: (screw Bartz. I want Faris! She's awesome!)
- Faris

FFV Villains:
- Exdeath
- Gilgamesh

FFVI Heroes: (I'd say Edward, but only because he amuses me)
- Terra
- Setzer

FFVI Villains:
- Kefka


FFVII Heroes:
- Cloud
- Tifa

FFVII Villains:
- Sephiroth
- Genesis

FFVIII Heroes:
- Squall
- Rinoa

FFVIII Villains:
- Ultimecia
- Seifer

FFIX Heroes:
- Zidane
- Dagger

FFIX Villains:
- Kuja
- Beatrix

FFX Heroes:
- Tidus
- Yuna/Rikku (X-2 versions)

FFX Villains:
- Seymour

FFXII heroes: (I hated this game, really, only two options becasue they were the only likeable characters)
- Balthier
- Fran


FFXIII hero:
- Lightning

Kingdom Hearts Hero:
- Sora

Kingdom Hearts Villian:
- Riku

(Oh, oh! Or Sora and Riku VS Ansem and Riku Replica!!  Yay for Twins! Damn confusing at times though)

And can we work on a more RPG-like storyline, please? And MORE story. I think they relied too heavily on game references in the last one, it was nothing new, just some fanservice. Also: Team Battles. Not just a player with another player, but You + comp VS Comp + Comp, because there's no reason a person should be deprived of that simply because they don't have anyone to play with.

Date: 2010-12-14 07:54 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] 10n31yb4by.livejournal.com
Actually I think less story would be better for this kind of game. I don't really want them to screw around with the stories of the original games, a "retelling" of the original like they did with the first one is as much as I'll allow them here. ;)

Really, the early FFs were much better suited to be remade in that format since the story in those games was pretty basic and they could really flesh out the characters more. The latter ones on the other hand suffer in their Dissidia version since you cannot put a story of the scope and level of detail into a fighting game for ten different characters and they ended up being weak in comparison to the original games for that reason.

Dissidia works best maybe as a FFI remake. It manages to interpret Chaos as the universal RPG villain. But really, story is not what this kind of game can be about. It's supposed to be a multiplayer game.

Date: 2010-12-14 08:18 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] tenoko1.livejournal.com
I guess that's the difference in our personalities then. If there is no story and it's strictly fighting, or a multiplayer game, I would have no interest in playing as that would be very boring. If I'm going to spend hours playing a game, i want to feel as though I'm working toward something in it. Fighting games have never held any interest for me. And I disagree that less story would be better for this, I think they could do a lot with the story and turn it into a proper RPG if they had the guts to step off the sidewalk.

Date: 2010-12-14 10:12 pm (UTC)
From: [identity profile] 10n31yb4by.livejournal.com
So making another FFRPG is stepping off the sidewalk, because there hasn't been anything like that before? And making an actual fighting game is too orthodox because we had too much of that already?

I like both genres but there hasn't been a FF fighting game before and I already played a lot of FFRPGs. I also want more FFRPGs and there's enough of that too.

I'm not saying you shouldn't play that game but as someone who actually likes multiplayer games I just wish they'd make a game true to what they wanted to do, and do a new game as opposed to something that we already have enough of.

Also, fighting games have story too, it's just that it revolves around battles, around 1 on 1 duels. Making it even more RPG like just doesn't work in this genre.

Fighting games are all about the characters and their motives, their reason to fight. This has already been defined in the source games. All Dissidia can do is flesh out what's already there.

Actually I'm sure SE will even try to give you what you want. But still, if you expect something from a genre it doesn't provide you're setting yourself up for disappointment.

April 2021

S M T W T F S
    123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
2526 27282930 

Most Popular Tags

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags